Club Atlético River Plate

River Plate

River is the current champion of the Copa Conmebol Libertadores, the most prestigious team tournament in South American football.

“El Millonario”, as the club located in the Buenos Aires neighborhood of Belgrano is also known, was founded on May 25, 1901, and is the Argentine club with the most professional titles in the first division of the Argentine league (35).

In addition, it occupies a place among the great animators of South American and international football, where it has won the Copa Conmebol Libertadores 4 times and 1 Intercontinental Cup, among its most outstanding titles.

An inexhaustible source of players for the National team and historically characterized by a colorful game, River has great figures among its glories. Amadeo Carrizo, Norberto Alonso, Daniel Pasarella, Ubaldo Fillol, Oscar Ruggeri, Enzo Francescoli, Marcelo Gallardo, Ariel Ortega, Pablo Aimar, and so on with an extensive list of names that contributed to the club’s great history.

Its headquarters is the Antonio Vespucio Liberti Stadium, better known as “El monumental”, founded in 1938 and with a capacity of 75,699 spectators. Witness of great sporting feats, such as the 1978 World Soccer Championship, where Argentina was champion with the figure of Mario Alberto Kempes at the head.

Do not miss River Plate in the Colossus Cup 2019!

More information about the team: